The Worst Piece of Exercise Equipment Ever

Let’s start with a photo of this wretched device.

Photo 114--Treadmill Desk

The idea behind this treadmill desk is that you get to work on your computer and walk at the same time. What’s so wrong with that? It speaks volumes about our culture’s lack of life balance. If your life is such that the only time you have to walk is while you are working on your computer, well, you’ve got issues. That’s not my opinion, that’s a fact. We’re not designed to be working or to be sedentary all the time.

If you’re so busy with work and other activities that you have no time to do any exercise or physical activity, what are you to do? You take a good look at your at yourself and you identify what you really want from life. You take a good look at your current life and you see how the ways you are living match with your desires and how they don’t.

I hear frequently from people who say:

“I don’t have time for exercise. I work 10 hours a day and I commute an hour each way.”

“There’s no way I can get more sleep on the weekends. The kids have hockey at 4:00 a.m.”

“I’m so burnt out. But my mortgage is $2,500 a month; I can’t afford to work less.”

“I’d love to have some time to myself. I know it’s good for me. But the kids have four birthday parties to go to this weekend.”

The common thread in these statements is powerlessness. Is it true that in what might be the most free country in history, we are all powerless pawns who are trapped in lives that we have no control over? How could that be?

Here’s the thing: I don’t know how you can live the balanced life of your dreams, nor would I ever try to tell you what I think that life would look like for you. But you know. You have the ability to truly be free, to live the life of your desires, on your terms. This includes having enough time to take great care of yourself. And you know what actions you can take to live such a life. It starts now. Take the first step. Get off the treadmill life you never signed up for and start living the life you choose.

Remember your mantra for today: NOURISHING MOVEMENT, NOURISHING FOOD, NOURISHING LIFE.

Leave a Reply

