Cut This One Word from Your Vocabulary and See What Happens

These are statements I hear all the time:

• “I’m going to try to eat more vegetables this week.”
• “I’m going to try to workout four times this week.”
• “I’m going to try to drink half of my bodyweight (in pounds) of water (in ounces) every day.”
• “I’m going to try to spend more time with my siblings this summer.”
• “I’m going to try to do yoga twice this week.”
• “I’m going to try to take some more photos this week.”
• “I’m going to try to make some plans to go to a concert this month.”
• “I’m going to try to eat some fish this week.”
• “I’m going to try to get to sleep at 10:00 p.m. each night this week.”

Oftentimes, I simply hear “I’ll try.” This is in response to me making a recommendation like, “I recommend you eat breakfast every day.” “I’ll try,” my well-intentioned client responds, not realizing that they just set themselves up to fail. In fact, they virtually guaranteed it. When you wake up tomorrow morning and you have a plan to go lift weights at 6:30 a.m., you have two options, like binary code. You can go lift weights (let’s call this one in our binary code) or you cannot go lift weights (let’s call this zero in our binary code).

Go Lift Weights = 1
Don’t Go Lift Weights = 0

This is the innocent mistake people make. They think that “Try to go lift weights” is like 0.9. It’s almost as strong as “Go lift weights”, they think. But that’s not how our minds work. Saying “I will try to go lift weights tomorrow,” is the same as saying, “I will not go lift weights tomorrow,” because it’s not, “I will go lift weights.” It’s non-committal. Your mind cannot assign it a “1” in our binary code, so it must assign it a “0”.

Go Lift Weights = 1
Don’t Go Lift Weights = 0
Try to Go Lift Weights = 0

This notion is not new and I did not invent it. I learned this from one of my greatest mentors. He told me this when I was five or six. It didn’t sink in right away, but I got it a few years later. Yoda on life: “Do or do not. There is no try.”

So cut this one word, this one limiting word, from your vocabulary and see what happens. You’ll be glad you did.

Photo 103--Yoda

Remember your mantra for today: NOURISHING MOVEMENT, NOURISHING FOOD, NOURISHING LIFE.

Leave a Reply

