A Hang-Up That I Gave Up

About 12 years ago, I went on a weekend trip with a few co-workers to do some whitewater rafting. I remember stopping for lunch and we were considering different places. One guy asked me what I would prefer. I said, “It doesn’t matter to me, I’m easy.” In a way that sort of stung, but was true, he said back to me, “No, you’re not.” He was right. I had several different food rules. Things I would eat, things I wouldn’t eat. I was, frankly, pretty uptight about it all. Eating well was serious business, I thought. Even when eating something delicious, I was lost in my thinking either of how great I was for avoiding “bad stuff” or for eating such “great stuff”. I thought, as I was taught, that enjoying food and eating healthy were two different things—polar opposites in fact. I had people in my life literally say, “If it’s healthy, it can’t taste good.” That was my programming. This train of thought is fairly pervasive in our culture. Thankfully, I’ve come out of this part of the matrix and have discovered that that which I nourishing is also what is delicious; that which is delicious is also nourishing. I’ve been struck recently several times by how delicious yams are. Last night I had baked haddock, sautéed broccoli rabe, and mashed yams. The yams were so sweet, so deliciously sweet, that it made me wonder why anyone ever invented candy or anything like that. The great whole, natural, real food that is here for us all tastes so amazingly good and contains everything we need to flourish, to thrive. Let’s all drop any remaining food hang-ups we have and allow ourselves to fully enjoy our meals.

Photo 55--Mashed Yams

Remember your mantra for today: NOURISHING MOVEMENT, NOURISHING FOOD, NOURISHING LIFE.

2 thoughts on “A Hang-Up That I Gave Up

  1. Love this story! How many times, particularly around eating and eating out, have I said this, too: “I’m easy”. What a laugh! Also, yams, yes, why do we create candy when there is so much in Nature! Also, I hope at some point [grimace inserted here] that I stop torturing my friends and family with my eating requirements. But until then, I vow to embrace my pickiness and own it such that others may simply notice it and not feel bad about my issue.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I just eat how I eat now. I eat well–I eat whole, natural, real food, prepared simply and I love it. I do have values that are important to me, and I feel good about them. I don’t have fear and I’m not righteous. It simply makes sense to feed myself well–just like I feed my nephews and nieces when they’re in my care. I don’t feel any pressure to eat in ways other eat, nor do I feel any need to judge or be critical of how others eat. (If someone asks for my advice, professionally or personally, I’m eager to offer it, but otherwise, to each his own.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

