Squash All Around

Have you noticed all the butternut squash, acorn squash, pumpkins, and other squashes in the food stores these days? These have been calling to me recently and I’ve made some delicious dishes that I’d like to share with you so you can try them too.

Yesterday, I made roasted delicata squash. I was driving to go hiking and found one for sale at a roadside farm for $1.50. I had never had it before so it seemed like the perfect, fun thing to make for dinner. My friends Glen and Jean had given me a big bag of herbs from their garden earlier in the day. I simply cut the squash in half the long way, took out the seeds, and roasted it at 375 degrees until it was soft (about 30 minutes) with a little bit of ghee and thyme and sage leaves on top. Tasty!

Photo 46--Delicata Squash

On Saturday, I made pumpkin soup. After removing the seeds, I cut the pumpkin into chunks and cut the skin off. I steamed it until it was soft which took about 15 minutes. I put the steamed pumpkin in my blender to get it all mushed up. In a saucepan, I sautéed an onion in some olive oil. When the onion was about halfway cooked, I put in pieces of a purple cauliflower that I chopped up. When all of this was cooked, I added the pumpkin plus a can of white beans, some salt, ground coriander, and ground cumin and cooked it until it was hot throughout. It was the best thing I’ve had in while!

Hewlett-Packard

A few nights ago, I made spaghetti squash with tomato sauce. I seeded the squash, then roasted it at 375 degrees until it was soft (about 30 minutes). In a saucepan, I heated up some store-bought tomato-and-basil tomato sauce. When the squash was cooked, I scooped out the spaghetti-like flesh into a bowl and added the heated-up tomato sauce. Wonderful!

Photo 48--Spaghetti Squash

Have a great start to the week! And get your squash on—it’s the perfect time of the year for it!

Remember your mantra for today: NOURISHING MOVEMENT, NOURISHING FOOD, NOURISHING LIFE.

Leave a Reply

