Two Thursday Food Tips

Nature’s Perfect Snacks

You’re hungry in the middle of the afternoon and you only have a few minutes to eat something. What do you grab? Nature’s perfect snacks, that’s what. What are nature’s perfect snacks, you ask? Fruit and nuts. Fruit and nuts are ready to eat snacks. Then don’t require refrigeration so you can take them with you anywhere. Have a banana and a handful of cashews. Have an apple and a handful of almonds. Perfect. If you’re home or have a fridge at the office, you can also eat nut butter like almond butter, cashew butter, or peanut butter. This is great with bananas, apples, pears, or other fruit. I love to core an apple or pear and put almond butter in the space where the core was. That’s truly my favorite snack. My suggestion is to buy some fruit and nuts each week and keep a supply at home, at the office, or wherever else you spend a lot of time. You’ll always be snack ready. This is a great habit to teach kids too. If you always have fruit and nuts around and it’s what they see you snacking on, they’ll be all the more likely to choose this nourishing option over packaged chips, crackers, etc.

Photo 22--Woman Eating an Apple

The Joy of New Foods

We all have foods we like and foods we don’t like. We can even have foods we don’t think we like, but have never really tried. This was me with lobster. I never had it growing up and just assumed I would not like it. I tried it once a few years ago and didn’t really like it much and sort of gave up on it. Then about a month ago, I had it again. This time I made it in my kitchen, cooked it, cracked it, the whole deal, for the first time. It was fun to do something new and this time I’d say I liked it. I didn’t love it, but I liked it. I had it again this past weekend and this time, low and behold, I really liked it. In my experience, it goes this way with food sometimes. I was the same way with kale about eight or nine years ago. I had never had it and thought I never would. As I had it a few times, I really started to enjoy it, now I really love steamed or sautéed kale, spinach, and other greens. Foods can grow on you with exposure. So what’s that food you have never really given a chance, but lots of other people really enjoy? Give it a shot this week. As you expand your horizons with new foods, eating becomes more and more fun.

Photo 23--Man with a Lobster Bib

Remember your mantra for today: NOURISHING MOVEMENT, NOURISHING FOOD, NOURISHING LIFE.

Leave a Reply

